

The Citizens' Efficiency Commission Some Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Citizens' Efficiency Commission?

The Citizens' Efficiency Commission is an independent body, established as an outcome of an advisory referendum, made up of 23 citizens selected by the various municipal jurisdictions and bodies in Sangamon County.

What is it to do?

The Commission's purpose is to improve the economy, efficiency and effectiveness of local government in the area by assessing and proposing opportunities for improved cooperation, coordination and sharing of services between and among local governments in the County, as well as the reduction or elimination of duplication of effort.

How did it come about?

The Commission was proposed by the Sangamon County Board based upon the input that County Board members received from many of their constituents. Because of this interest, the County Board members passed a resolution calling for an advisory referendum asking the public whether or not they supported the creation of such a group. During the election this past November, over 60% of those casting a ballot indicated their support for the creation of a Citizens' Efficiency Commission.

Why is it important?

Finding ways for local governments to be more efficient and effective is important for a number of reasons.

First, the current state of the economy is placing unprecedented fiscal pressure on local governments, as well as individuals, families and businesses. This means that local governments must find improved ways of doing business if they are to continue basic services while not increasing the burden on taxpayers. Second, these pressures are simply increased by state and federal mandates that place new demands on local governments without the funding necessary to support them. And finally, it is also important because the state and federal governments are making intergovernmental and regional initiatives critical components of the funding they do provide to local governments.

Local governments will continue to struggle to meet their financial commitments if they do not become more efficient and find ways to work together to reduce costs and duplication of effort.

How will the members of the Commission be selected?

They will be selected by the municipal jurisdictions and bodies in the County as follows:

- 4 members nominated by the Mayor of Springfield and appointed by the City Council.
- 4 nominated by the Chairman of the Sangamon County Board and appointed by that Board.
- 2 appointed collectively by the village boards in the County.
- 2 appointed collectively by the townships.
- 2 appointed collectively by the school districts.
- 1 appointed collectively by the community college districts.
- 1 appointed collectively by the fire protection districts.
- 1 appointed collectively by the library districts.
- 1 appointed collectively by the water districts.
- And 1 each appointed by the boards of the Springfield Park District, Metropolitan Sewer District, Mass Transit District, Airport Authority, Metropolitan Exposition & Auditorium Authority.

If all of the jurisdictions and bodies choose to take part, 23 members in all.





Must the local governments implement the Commission's recommendations?

No. The recommendations of the Commission will be advisory, but given that it is broadly representative of the public, there is good reason to believe that most of the recommendations will be adopted in some way.

So who can be selected?

The Commission is intended to truly represent "citizen" interests, so no member may be appointed who holds elective office or is employed by the appointing entity. In selecting members, and insofar as possible, the resolution establishing the Commission calls for individuals to be appointed who are: not in a position to augment their income or promote their special interests; not selected based upon political party affiliation; broadly representative of the community's geographic, economic, racial and cultural diversity; knowledgeable, active or interested in community affairs; willing to commit the time necessary to be an active Commission member; and, in total, reflect a fair representation of the local governments in the County.

Will Citizens' Efficiency Commission members be paid?

No. All members of the Commission would hold two-year terms but receive no compensation for their activities on it.

How long does the Commission have to make recommendations?

While the Commission could make recommendations at any time, the establishing resolution calls for it to submit its final recommendations no later than 36 months after its establishment by referendum. This means it must complete its final work by early November 2013.

Will its meetings be open to the public?

Yes. As a *Citizens'* Commission its work must be transparent to be effective. But to ensure this, the resolution specifically calls for the Commission to operate under the provisions of the Illinois Open Meetings Act and Freedom of Information Act.

Who will assist the Commission in its work?

Because of its unique role, responsibilities and relationship with many of the involved jurisdictions, the Springfield-Sangamon County Regional Planning Commission may be called upon to help staff the Citizens' Efficiency Commission. It may also call upon employees of the various jurisdictions and entities making appointments, as well as individuals and organizations from outside our community that are experienced in efforts to improve efficiency and effectiveness. The Citizens' Commission will have authority to seek grants and other sources of funds that would be helpful and necessary in accomplishing its tasks.

Have other areas established such commissions?

While it's not common in Illinois, commissions such as this one have been established by state and local governments in other areas of the country, and the recommendations of these groups were found to be helpful in identifying ways in which local governments can reduce costs through coordination, cooperation, service sharing and the elimination of unnecessary duplication.





Who are the Citizens' Efficiency Commissioners?

Commissioner:	Appointing Jurisdiction:
Kenley R. Wade Sr	City of Springfield
Joan Walters	City of Springfield
Dan Cadigan	City of Springfield
Josh Collins	City of Springfield
Dr. Kevin Dorsey	Sangamon County
Rev. Lee E. Fields Jr	Sangamon County
Marilyn Kushak	Sangamon County
J.D. Sudeth	Sangamon County
Mike Murphy	Village Governments
Robert Plunk	Village Governments
Jim Donelan	Township Governments
Jerry Crabtree	Township Governments
Mike Chamness	Sangamon County School Districts
Frank McNeil	Sangamon County School Districts
Jim Fulgenzi	Springfield Park District
Hon. Karen Hasara	Springfield Metro Sanitary District
Patrick Coburn	Springfield Mass Transit District
Dr. Kent Redfield	Springfield Airport Authority
Mike Aiello	Springfield Metropolitan Exposition and Auditorium Authority
Bob Gray	Community College Districts
Gary Crompton	Fire Protection Districts
Jeff Adkisson	Library Districts
Cliff Erwin	Water Districts

