There are two very large murals installed at the new Springfield Sangamon County Transportation Hub located in downtown Springfield. 

Both murals represent some of the important historic places and people who lived, worked or had strong connections to Sangamon County.

The "Corridor in History and Development" large mural was designed and installed by Jared Bader in 2023. It will be seen by people transferring at the SMTD bus transfer center as well as others walking or driving down 11th Street by the new transportation Hub.
The "Local Heroes" large mural was designed and installed by Danielle Mastrion in 2023. It will be seen from the Amtrak station and as guests get on and off the train. 
The artists and the mural concepts were chosen by a mural advisory committee that included county and city leaders, members of the art community and leaders of surrounding neighborhood associations.   

* Read more about how the local advisory committee selected the artists and concepts here.

Mural Advisory Committee

Brytton Bjorngaard
UIS, Director of Visual Arts
Scott Dahl
Springfield Convention and Visitor’s Bureau, Director
Linda Douglas Williams
Sangamon County Board Member, District 20
Bruce Ferry
Ferry & Associates, Architect
Julia Frevert
City of Springfield, Former Communications Director
Shawn Gregory
Springfield Alderman, Ward 2
Angela Harris
Pioneer Park Neighborhood Association, President
Zhavier Harris
Hampton University Graduate and Marketing Professional
Karen Hasara
SMTD, Trustee
Tom Hutchinson
Mather and Wells Neighborhood Association, President
Brian McFadden
Sangamon County, Administrator
Steve Schoeffel
SMTD, Director
Michelle Smith
Local Artist
Erin Svendsen
Springfield Art Association, Education Director
Senator Doris Turner
Illinois State Senator, District 48
Brian Wojcicki
Former President, Downtown Springfield, Inc.