In this video, Sangamon County Board members show the progress of the renovations happening at the county building, scheduled to wrap up in late 2024. Click here to watch a walk-through video rendering of the new atrium and the new entrance to the second floor. 
In an effort to modernize and update the Sangamon County building and connect it to the new Hub, leaders have designed and are building a new entrance to the county building. After the Hub and renovations are complete, Sangamon County residents will enter the county building through the Hub. They will be able to access most of the county's frequently used services on the first floor. 

The county board appointed two advisory committees to help with programming ideas for the newly renovated spaces including one focused on the new first floor atrium space and one focused on the newly configured second floor lobby area.

There have not been any major updates since the building was constructed in 1990.
Sangamon County leaders provide an update in January 2023 about the renovation of the county building.
The first floor atrium space will connect to the new transportation center and will provide easy access to many of the services that many Sangamon County residents need. The advisory committee that is exploring ideas for this space includes what type of art or statue should greet visitors to the county building.  

Molly Berns   County Employee
Eve Blackwell Lewis   Community Member, Rail Steering Committee Member & Ombudsman
Ryan Cadagin   Sangamon County Judge
Sarah Delano Pavlik   Community Member, Lawyer
Linda Fulgenzi   Former County Board Member, District 12
Gordon Gates   Community Member, Lawyer
Andy Goleman   County Auditor
Craig Hall   County Board Member, District 7
Dana Kinion   Community Member, Lawyer
Brian McFadden   County Administrator
Brad Miller   County Board Member, District 13
Linda Norbut Suits   Community Member, Art in Architecture Program, CDB
Julie Pittman   County Employee
Christina Shutt   Community Member, ALPLM Director
Sheila Walk   Community Member, Executive Director of Springfield Area Arts Council
Dan Wright   Sangamon County State’s Attorney
On the second floor of the county building there will be a new lobby area for Sangamon County residents to wait or gather before a scheduled meeting with the county board or another meeting. The advisory committee has selected artist Troy Freeman to paint a mural for the space. Also recommended by the advisory committee, the county is partnering with the Springfield Art Association and the Sangamon County Historical Society to work with other groups and Sangamon County residents to plan two-dimensional and three-dimensional exhibits in the exhibit space.

Molly Berns   County Employee
Annette Fulgenzi   County Board Member, District 17
Linda Fulgenzi   County Board Member, District 12
Andy Goleman   County Auditor
Tim Krell   County Board Member, District 15
Joe Lesko   County employee
Brian McFadden   County Administrator
Kevin McGuire   County Board Member, District 23
Brad Mills   Community Member
Mary Francis Squires   Community Member, former Sangamon County Board chair