Birth Records

Order Online

Requirements to order online:

  1. To order online, you will be required to electronically send us a copy of your valid ID
    1. Acceptable ID includes: Valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Military ID or Passport (ID cannot be expired)
  2. Click here to upload your valid ID or take a picture of your valid ID with a smartphone and email to us at Do not upload and send your ID unless you are placing an order on Epay. Continue with the following instructions to place an order on-line.
  3. If you chose to upload your valid ID, you will be directed to the Epay site upon successful submission of your ID.  If you email us a picture of your ID, clicking on the link below will take you to the Epay site.
  4. Once you are on the Epay website you will click on the type of vital record you are requesting from the list provided.
  5. Complete the required information on the Epay site screens.
  6. A confirmation page will be emailed to you after you have successfully completed the transaction.
  7. Once you have placed this order, the record will be mailed to you.

To begin your order for a Birth Record online, please click hereDo not continue if the birth did not occur in Sangamon County.  For Illinois births outside of Sangamon County, please contact the State Vital Records at (217) 782-6554 or click here to access their website Illlinois Department of Public Health.

If you have any difficulties at all with this process please contact our office directly at (217) 753-6700 or at for further instructions!

Please note: Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding Vital Records. Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to vital records. The Sangamon County Clerk’s Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois Law. Vital Records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.

Who May Obtain Birth Records

  • The record can be released to the person named on the record, if they are 18 years of age or over.
  • The parent, if their name appears on the Birth Certificate as the mother or father.
  • A Legal Guardian who possesses guardianship papers that are signed by a judge.
  • A Legal Representative who is representing the person named on the Birth Certificate or is representing his/her parents.
  • A court order.

Top of Page

Identification Required

Acceptable forms of identification are:
Valid Driver's License
Driver's License that is no more than six months expired along with one more piece of documentation with your current name and address
Valid State Issued ID
Firearm Owner's ID (newer style with hologram)
Valid US Passport
Valid Military ID

OR (for requests made in person or through the mail ONLY)

Three of these forms displaying current name and address:
Voter Registration Card
W-2 Form (most recent)
Public assistance medical card (current)
Bank Statement (most recent)
Utility bills or other mail with your name & address printed on it (No handwritten envelopes or documents will be accepted)
Vehicle Registration Card
Incarcerated or recently released inmates can submit a copy of their prison intake/offender summary sheet containing a photo along with two other documents
Credit Card Statement
Paycheck stub with name and address

Top of Page


$25.00 for the first copy and $7.00 for each additional copy of the same record when purchased at the same time. Payment may be made with a money order, check (please make payable to Sangamon County Clerk), cash or by Visa, Master Card, Discover or American Express. If ordering on-line, you may use Visa, Master Card, Discover or American Express. Valid ID required for payments made by personal check or credit card.

Top of Page

Obtain By Mail

To request a birth record by mail, click here for the required application that is to be completed. You may complete on-line, then print out and sign. The application shall include the person’s name at birth (maiden name), date of birth and parents’ names with mother’s maiden name. The application must be signed by the applicant and the record can only be sent to those who are entitled a copy. The applicant must also submit an acceptable form of ID with the request. When photocopying ID, please copy at 115% of its normal size.

Acceptable forms of identification are a photocopy of any of the following:
Valid Driver's License
Valid State Issued ID
Valid US Passport
Valid Military ID


A photocopy of three of these forms displaying current name and address:
Voter Registration Card
W-2 Form (most recent)
Bank Statement (most recent)
Utility bills or other mail with your name & address printed on it (No handwritten envelopes or documents will be accepted)
Vehicle Registration Card
Work identification with photo

Top of Page

Other Information

Births on File in Sangamon County
Birth Records on file in the Sangamon County Clerk's Office go back to the year 1877.

Out of State Births
Try these other county and state links.

Birth Records for Genealogical Purposes
Yes, but only those that are 75 years or older. They are the same cost as other records. Only certified copies are issued.

Search the Birth Records Index (for records 75 years or older)

To search an index of names and dates of births 75 years or older, click here

More information on Genealogy

Click here for more information on genealogy in Illinois and in other states.

For more information, please call (217) 753-6701 or come to Room 101 of the Sangamon County Complex, 200 S. Ninth Street, Springfield, IL 62701 or e-mail by clicking here.

Top of Page

Download Adobe Reader To download Adobe Acrobat Reader, click on the Acrobat icon