Death Records

Order Online

Requirements to order online:

  1. To order online, you will be required to electronically send us a copy of your valid ID
    1. Acceptable ID includes: Valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Military ID or Passport (ID cannot be expired)
  2. Click here to upload your valid ID or take a picture of your valid ID with a smartphone and email to us at Do not upload and send your ID unless you are placing an order on Epay. Continue with the following instructions to place an order on-line.
  3. If you chose to upload your valid ID, you will be directed to the Epay site upon successful submission of your ID.  If you email us a picture of your ID, clicking on the link below will take you to the Epay site.
  4. Once you are on the Epay website you will click on the type of vital record you are requesting from the list provided.
  5. Complete the required information on the Epay site screens.
  6. A confirmation page will be emailed to you after you have successfully completed the transaction.
  7. Once you have placed this order, the record will be mailed to you.

To begin your order for a Death Record online, please click here.  Do not continue if the death did not occur in Sangamon County.  For Illinois deaths outside of Sangamon County, please contact the State Vital Records at (217) 782-6554 or click here to access their website Illlinois Department of Public Health.

If you have any difficulties at all with this process please contact our office directly at (217) 753-6700 or at for futher instructions!

Please note: Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding Vital Records. Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to vital records. The Sangamon County Clerk’s Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois Law. Vital Records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.

Who May Obtain Death Records

Applicant must be immediate family (mother, father, brother, sister, spouse, child) or must be the informant listed on the death record.  Applicant must have a personal or property right interest in the record.  Applicant should be prepared to show documentation proving their need for the record and/or intended use and valid identification.   

Top of Page

Identification Needed

Acceptable forms of identification are:
Valid Driver's License
Driver's License that is no more than six months expired along with one more piece of documentation with your cuurent name and address (you cannot use this option for on-line orders)
Valid State Issued ID
Firearm Owner's ID (newer style with hologram)
Valid US Passport
Valid Military ID

OR (For requests made in person or through the mail only)

Three of these forms displaying current name and address:
Voter Registration Card
W-2 Form (most recent)
Public assistance medical card (current)
Bank Statement (most recent)
Utility bills or other mail with your name & address printed on it (No handwritten envelopes or documents will be accepted)
Vehicle Registration Card
Incarcerated or recently release inmates can submit a copy of their prison intake/offender summary sheet containing a photo along with two other documents
Credit Card Statement
Paycheck stub with name and address

Top of Page


$29.00 for the first copy and $11.00 for each additional copy of the same record when purchased at the same time. Payment may be made with a money order, check (please make payable to Sangamon County Clerk), cash or Visa, Master Card, Discover or American Express.  Valid ID required for payments made by personal check or credit card.

Top of Page

Obtain a Death Record Online or by Mail

The applicant can download the required application here; which shall include the deceased's name and approximate date and year of death, the intended use of record, relationship to the deceased and a copy of a valid ID and the applicant's signature. You may click here to request one online.  The application must include the required fee and should be mailed to the Sangamon County Clerk’s Office, 200 S. Ninth Street, Room 101, Springfield, IL 62701. For questions you may contact the office at (217) 753-6700 or e-mail by clicking here.

Top of Page

Other Information

Death Records on File in Sangamon County
Death records on file in the Sangamon County Clerk's Office go back to the year 1877.

Deaths that Occurred Out of State or County
Try these other county and state links.

For more information, please call (217) 753-6700 or come to Room 101 of the Sangamon County Complex, 200 S. Ninth Street, Springfield, IL 62701 or e-mail by clicking here.

Top of Page

Download Adobe Reader  To download Adobe Acrobat Reader, click on the Adobe Reader icon