Mobile Menu Open/Close

Office of Emergency Management

The mission of Sangamon County OEM is to enhance public safety by planning and supporting the county’s efforts for mitigation and preparedness against the threats and hazards which pose the greatest risk to those who live and work in Sangamon County.

OEM collects and maintains information sent to the Sangamon Valley LEPC to identify locations of sizable hazardous materials storage within Sangamon and Menard Counties, focusing on the storage of extremely hazardous substances as defined by the USEPA.

Sangamon County OEM consists of two (2) paid employees: the Director (Coordinator) and the Deputy Coordinator.  OEM has oversight of the 20 members of the Sangamon County Rescue Squad.  OEM maintains equipment and trains the Rescue Squad whose efforts can be coordinated with other public safety providers for responses to emergencies and disasters within the County.  The Sangamon County OEM Rescue Squad has 19 certified search and rescue canines under his command and provides life safety underwater rescue and recovery on any body of water within the county with 14 certified divers.

  • Mailing Address
    2801 N. 5th Street
    Springfield, IL 62702

Social Media:

  • Office
    2801 N. 5th Street
    Springfield, IL 62702
  • Phone
    p: (217) 747-5101
  • Hours
    7:30AM - 3:30 PM  Monday - Friday