Mobile Menu Open/Close


Sangamon County Appoints Joe Roesch as Circuit Clerk

Sangamon County Board Chairman Andy Van Meter has selected Joe Roesch to serve the remainder of the term that will be left vacant by the departure of current Circuit Clerk Paul Palazzolo. The Sangamon County Board approved the nomination of Roesch at the August 8th board meeting. 

Joe Roesch, a lifelong resident of Sangamon County, is an attorney, former prosecutor, and former Chief Deputy of the Sangamon County Sheriff’s Office. Roesch previously served and protected the County, first as an Assistant State’s Attorney, followed by a remarkable 23-year career in the Sangamon County Sheriff’s Office. Roesch held multiple leadership positions in the Sheriff’s Office, including Chief Deputy from 2014-2018 under former Sheriff Wes Barr. 

“I’m extremely honored and thankful to continue serving the citizens of Sangamon County,” Roesch said.  “Serving as a Circuit Clerk will be an extension of my prior career of dedication and commitment to our community. I am wholly committed to fulfilling the responsibilities of Circuit Clerk.” 

 Roesch graduated from Millikin University with degrees in History and Education and received his Juris Doctor from Southern Illinois University - Carbondale, School of Law. Roesch is currently employed as a Labor and Employment Law Attorney with Stratton, Moran, Reichert, Sroncem, and Appleton, representing multiple private and public employers. 

Sangamon County Chairman Andy Van Meter said, "Joe Roesch’s proven dedication to our community during his career in the Sheriff's Office, combined with his background as a lawyer and prosecutor, equip him with the expertise and leadership needed to manage the Circuit Clerk’s office effectively. The County Board is excited to work with Joe to further improve the services and public accessibility of the Circuit Clerk’s office.” 

Roesch’s appointment is effective October 1st, 2023; the current term expires in December 2024.


Previous Article New Commercial Economic Growth Financing Incentive Passed by Sangamon County Board
Next Article LIHEAP 2023-2024 Program Year